The love of a street view- removing a sense of reality

At this point in time I started to question about the video that would be projected onto the copper plates. I wanted to portray a conclusion of my academic journey and somewhat create a fusion of work that questions our society as well as the importance of performance art. I started to look back through my sketchbook and came across the images that were shot of a model holding a heart within the center of a street. This was a turning point within my work as yes the image of a heart seemed quite stereotypically with the means of life but what I found more interesting was how I represented society through location. By placing the model in the center it shows that our society is split, we follow a code of how we should live thus creating an order. I then started to question the importance of location for this final video sequence. Like my previous work I decided to shoot in grey-scale, as I believed colour provided a sense of liberation, which was counteracting what I wanted to express with the idea of how our society is confined as well as embodied with rules. Questioning whether this defines us? I then decided to take my digital camera out of my studio to shoot a range of images that contained long narrow streets that maybe considered as locations for my final sequence. However, I had to take into consideration of timing of the day. As I knew that creating this recording would take a long period of time and I didn’t want any distractions within the scene whilst I was performing my actions. For example passing cars or children walking. I wanted to remove a sense of reality. Even though I have decided where and why I wish to record I still question my role within this sequence. Does my role enhance or disrupt the piece? Should I even create a performance piece?

DSCN0053

DSCN0054

DSCN0063

216250_1341926124657_7995846_n

About bradleypaulandrews

Its something im born with. I might not be the best at it. Just feels like I have nothing else, this is me. My art, my life. Now i just got to show it :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment